Aerial view over Lake Pupuke towards Takapuna and the Auckland CBD skyline

Lake Pupuke, looking towards the city1

Named for the lake it looks over · about 5 minutes to the water

A top-floor home at Prestige on Pupuke

Unit 29, 73 Anzac Street, Takapuna, Auckland 0622, New Zealand2

  • 3 bedrooms plus a separate study
  • 2 bathrooms plus a separate laundry
  • 123 m² floor area2
  • 2 secure carparks

$1,595,0002

Asking price on the agent's current listing — not a valuation.

This page is an independent presentation prepared by the vendor's family, not Barfoot & Thompson's own marketing channel. The current listing — the one to rely on for offers, conditions and up-to-date availability — is listing 938342 at barfoot.co.nz, handled by Pam Riley and Kristy Duff, Barfoot & Thompson Takapuna (09 489 5084)2.

The home

More space than the average Takapuna apartment — and the paperwork to prove it

Most apartments along this stretch of Anzac Street come with one carpark. This one has two, plus two lockers, a separate study, and the top floor to itself. Here is the full spec sheet, every figure traceable to where it came from.

  • Top floor — nothing overhead, no one walking past a bedroom window.
  • Two secure carparks — uncommon in this complex; most units list one.
  • Two storage lockers — separate from the carparks.
  • A genuine fourth room — a separate study, not a converted alcove.

Specifications

Floor position Top floor2
Bedrooms 3 bedrooms plus a separate study2
Bathrooms 2 bathrooms plus a separate laundry2Some third-party property-data aggregators record this unit as having 1 bathroom — that figure is stale. The agency's own current listing confirms 2.
Floor area 123 m²2Agent-supplied figure. Whether balcony area is included is not stated on the listing.
Carparks 2 secure carparks2
Storage 2 storage lockers2
Outdoor space Balcony (main balcony plus a smaller secondary balcony)2
Shared amenities Residents' swimming pool and landscaped communal grounds2
Asking price $1,595,0002Current asking price on the agent's own listing.
Listed 6 August 2026calc.The realestate.co.nz mirror listing recorded 38 elapsed days since the portal list date, measured on the access date 13 Sept 2026. 13 Sept 2026 minus 38 days = 6 Aug 2026.3
Time on market About 5 to 6 weeks (as of 13 September 2026)calc.13 Sept 2026 (access date) minus the derived list date of 6 Aug 2026 is 38 days.3
Floor plan of Unit 29, 73 Anzac Street

Original agency floor-plan scan, unedited.

Floor plan

Room to actually use

Every dimension below is read directly off this plan. The plan itself states its measurements are approximate, taken internally, and exclude wall thickness — treat them as a guide to proportion, not a survey.

Main balcony 3.30 × 4.20 m2Transcribed from the listing's own floor-plan image. The plan states measurements are approximate, internal, and exclude wall thickness.
Secondary balcony 2.26 × 0.47 m2Transcribed from the listing's own floor-plan image. Approximate; excludes wall thickness.

The building

Prestige on Pupuke

Prestige on Pupuke is a 42-unit complex across three buildings — Rata, Pohutukawa and Kowhai — built in 2005. A 2003 pre-completion news report describes the buildings as masonry and concrete rather than the monolithic cladding used on many apartments of this era; council records don't themselves specify a construction material, so that description is noted below as reported, not independently confirmed — either way, nothing found anywhere points to the monolithic-cladding construction associated with New Zealand's weathertightness history. The vendor has been an active, involved owner — among other things, she chaired the body corporate for a number of years. A few running-cost figures below are still being confirmed with the building's records before we publish them as fact.

Building facts

Year built 20054Per propertyvalue.co.nz's council record for 29/73 Anzac Street ("Year Built: 2005"), consistent with every other unit's record checked in the complex.
Construction Council records do not specify a predominant construction material; a 2003 pre-completion news article describes the development as masonry/concrete56Corrected 2026-09-14: an earlier draft asserted "masonry/concrete" as confirmed, sourced to the agency listing (s01), which does not state a construction material at all. Unit 29's own homes.co.nz council-records data codes wall and roof construction as a generic "mixture of materials without a predominant material" — identical boilerplate to 9/73's record, i.e. building-wide/non-specific coding, not an individual material finding. The specific claim that the buildings are masonry/concrete rests only on a 2003 NZ Herald pre-completion marketing article ("Solid in appearance and in building material (masonry)..."), which is real, dated, contemporaneous coverage but not a council record or as-built survey. Genuinely reassuring either way: nothing found anywhere suggests monolithic-cladding construction (the type associated with NZ's 1990s-2000s "leaky building" era), so this is not treated as a weathertightness red flag — but "masonry" itself is described, not independently confirmed.
Units in complex 42 units76Corrected 2026-09-14: previously sourced to the agency listing (s01), which does not state a unit count anywhere on the page. Repointed to OpenStreetMap's own record for this building (building:flats=42), corroborated by a 2003 pre-completion news article describing "42 residential apartments in three buildings".
A named building in the complex Rata689Corrected 2026-09-14: an earlier draft claimed "PropertyValue records at least one building in the complex under the name Rata" — the word "Rata" does not appear anywhere on propertyvalue.co.nz's pages for units 16 or 19 (or any other unit checked). The name comes instead from a 2003 NZ Herald pre-completion article, which names exactly three buildings in this complex — Rata, Pohutukawa and Kowhai. PropertyValue's own contribution is the "R"-prefixed legal description shared by units 16, 18, 19, 20, 25 and 29 ("Unit R1C...", "Unit R1E...", "Unit R3E..." etc.), distinct from the "K" prefix on every checked Kowhai unit and the "P" prefix on every checked Pohutukawa unit — a record-of-title match that, combined with the Herald article's three names for three initials, can only pair one way (K=Kowhai, P=Pohutukawa, R=Rata).
Unit 29's building Rata45986Unit 29's own legal description — "Unit R3E and Accessory Unit 30, 56-57, Deposited Plan 349200" — is recorded on both its propertyvalue.co.nz and homes.co.nz records. The "R" prefix matches five other units (16, 18, 19, 20, 25) independently confirmed via their own legal descriptions to carry the same prefix, while every checked Kowhai unit carries a "K" prefix and every checked Pohutukawa unit a "P" prefix — a legal-description/record-of-title match, not an inference from unit numbering. The specific name "Rata" for the R-prefix group rests on one further step: a 2003 NZ Herald pre-completion article names exactly three buildings in this complex — Rata, Pohutukawa and Kowhai — whose names have three distinct initials, so the letter groups found in every unit's legal description can only pair one way (K=Kowhai, P=Pohutukawa, R=Rata). An earlier draft of this fact cited only the agency listing summary, which does not itself state a building name; that citation has been corrected. (2026-09-14: the 2003 NZ Herald article itself was previously missing from this fact's own sourceIds despite being described in this note — added below.)
Capital Value (CV) $1,550,0004Land $840,000, improvements $710,000. Effective 1 May 2024. A council CV is a rating valuation, not a market appraisal.
Body corporate levy TO CONFIRMNot yet obtained. Needed: annual levy, long-term maintenance plan, any current or upcoming special levies.
Body corporate detail TO CONFIRMNot yet obtained: insurance arrangements, lift/access rules, pet policy, and exactly what the two carparks and two lockers are entitled to under the unit title.

Location & lifestyle

Lake first, beach second — the honest version

This is not a beachside apartment, and we are not going to pretend otherwise: Takapuna Beach is About 1,556 m, roughly a 20-minute walk10. What the building's own name gets right is the lake: About 414 m, roughly a 5-minute walkcalc.107. For everyday errands, this stretch of Takapuna tests as 85 — "Very Walkable"1112 on Walk Score, a third-party measure that does more work than any adjective we could write here.

Aerial view over Lake Pupuke towards the Auckland CBD skyline
Lake Pupuke, looking towards the city1
Rangitoto Island seen across the Waitematā from the North Shore
Rangitoto Island, across the harbour
Yachts on the harbour with Takapuna in the background
The harbour, Takapuna in the distance
Lake Pupuke at Milford
Lake Pupuke
The boat ramp at Takapuna Beach
Takapuna Beach
View from the promenade at Takapuna Beach Reserve
The promenade, Takapuna Beach Reserve
Relaxing under a beach umbrella with Rangitoto Island visible across the water
North Shore beach life

On foot from the front door

Woolworths supermarket About 306 m, roughly a 4-minute walk10
Lake Pupuke (nearest shore access) About 414 m, roughly a 5-minute walkcalc.OSRM road-network routing distance to the Killarney Street reserve access, converted to time at a standard 4.8 km/h walking pace.107The building is literally named after this lake. Figure routes to the nearest reserve/road access on Killarney Street as a proxy for the water's edge; a direct route to a labelled lake point returned an implausible 3,352 m and was discarded.
Takapuna town centre & bus hub About 676 m, roughly a 9-minute walk10
New World Metro supermarket About 807 m, roughly a 10-minute walk10
Takapuna Sunday Market About 1,149 m, roughly a 14-minute walk10
Takapuna Beach About 1,556 m, roughly a 20-minute walk10This is not a beachside apartment. Road-network walking distance and a standard-pace time estimate, not a live Google Maps pull.
Auckland CBD, by car 9 km — about 11 minutes free-flow, up to around 40 minutes at peak10Free-flow time from routing. The peak-hour figure is from general published reporting on Harbour Bridge congestion, not a live traffic pull.

Road-network routing distances, not straight-line. Walking times are a standard-pace estimate from that distance, not a live journey-planner pull.

Schools: distance and zone are different questions

A school being nearby does not mean this address is zoned for it — we checked both separately.

Takapuna Primary School (nearest primary) 1.22 km, roughly a 15-minute walk10
Zoned for Takapuna Primary School? TO CONFIRMThe school's zoned-street list is published only as a Google Drive document that would not open. Confirm directly with the school (office@tps.school.nz) before using this as a selling point.
Takapuna Grammar School 3.78 km — too far to realistically walk10
Zoned for Takapuna Grammar School? TO CONFIRMThe school's own zone description covers "the suburb of Takapuna and the entire Devonport Peninsula," which this address fits — but no address-level zone lookup could be completed. Likely, not confirmed: check the school's official zone map or the Ministry of Education tool before relying on this.
Westlake Girls' High School 1.59 km10
Zoned for Westlake Girls' High School? TO CONFIRMCorrected 2026-09-14: an earlier draft concluded "Not in zone", reasoned from a claim that the zone boundary starts at Hauraki Corner "north of Anzac Street" — that premise is geographically wrong (Hauraki Corner sits roughly 1km SOUTH of Anzac Street, per OSM geocoding). With the directional reasoning removed, and given that reliably tracing a multi-vertex street-by-street zone polygon needs proper GIS rather than manual geocoding, this is set back to unconfirmed. Neither in-zone nor out-of-zone is asserted; check the Ministry of Education's own address-based zone tool or the school directly before relying on either answer.
Zoned for Westlake Boys High School? TO CONFIRMAssumed to share Westlake Girls' zone as the paired same-catchment school, but Westlake Boys' own boundary document was not independently retrieved to confirm this — treat as likely not in zone, not confirmed.

The evidence

What comparable sales in this complex actually show

These are the closest same-size (123 m²) sales found in this complex, plus two larger units shown for context. Every figure below is a publicly reported price, not a registered-title extract — and it is nominal, unadjusted for time or condition, in the table below (the range that follows it is time-adjusted). A dedicated market-research pass produced the range below and may refine it further.

$1,400,000–$1,500,000calc.Clean comparable base (5 sales excluding the 9/73 outlier and the 1/73 Nov-2025 resale): time-adjusted rate per m² ranges $9,216–$11,020, average $10,194 (updated 2026-09-14 to use exact-calendar-month QV index anchors rather than approximated quarters — see cmp_comparables_table). Applied to unit 29's 123m²: $1,134,000–$1,355,000, central $1,254,000. Cross-validated against homes.co.nz's AVM (independently backtested to within 1–2% of time-adjusted actual price on 4 of 5 testable units — see cmp_avm_backtest_table), which supports a range extending higher once the two flagged transactions are given some weight as upside evidence rather than excluded outright (9/73 adjusted $13,482/m², 1/73's second sale adjusted $11,414/m² — a ceiling implied value of roughly $1,659,000 at 123m²). Range widened from the comparable-only band to $1,300,000–$1,650,000, central estimate $1,400,000–$1,500,000, to reflect both signals without endorsing either extreme; this outer range is a judgement call set comfortably wider than the mechanical band, not a recomputation of it, so it is unchanged by the small (1-2%) shifts in the underlying per-m² figures.1314151617188941920212223

Full evidence-derived range: $1,300,000–$1,650,000 (confidence: moderate)

This is a range derived from public comparable-sales evidence, not a valuation, appraisal or registered valuer's opinion — and it should not be read as one. The current asking price of $1,595,000 sits $95,000–$195,000 above the central estimate.

How this range was worked out

Not a valuation — an evidence-derived range, presented as a band rather than a point estimate because the underlying evidence is genuinely thin (six comparable sales, none in unit 29's own building) and partly contradictory (see the limitations noted in Section 3). The current asking price of $1,595,000 sits $95,000–$195,000 above the central estimate, at the top of the outer range. A Sale/CV ratio method was tested (n=3 post-May-2024-CV sales, ratios 0.952–1.257, a 32-percentage-point spread) and rejected as a primary anchor — applying any single ratio to unit 29's CV swings the implied value by roughly $472,750, which is too noisy to found a range on; it was used only as a sanity-check bound. A higher band built by applying the two highest of those three ratios to unit 29's CV (implying roughly $1.74m–$1.80m) was considered and rejected, because: (1) it is built on a CV already shown to be elevated relative to unit 29's one true same-size, same-carpark peer (19/73, CV $1,375,000 — see Section 3); (2) it uses the two most CV-exceeding of three available ratios rather than their median, which includes 0.952; and (3) one of the two transactions behind it is the same-unit resale at 1/73 occurring only four months after an earlier, lower, arm's-length sale, for a reason not established from public data (see Section 3).

UnitPriceNotes
Unit 9 (123 m²) $1,760,0002425 PropertyValue records this sale on 17 Dec 2024; OneRoof records January 2025. Treat as one sale with an unresolved date discrepancy, not two transactions. The closest same-size, same-complex comparison available.
Unit 12 (123 m²) $1,485,50024 Sold February 2024.
Unit 2 (123 m²) $1,400,00026 Sold May 2023.
Unit 7 (123 m²) $1,180,00024 Sold November 2022.
Unit 1 (154 m²) $1,800,00026 Sold November 2025. A larger unit than 29 (154 m² vs 123 m²) — shown for context, not as a like-for-like comparison.
Unit 6 (154 m²) $1,775,0002427 Sold June 2025. Same floor-area caveat as Unit 1. Price withheld from the live portal page; corroborated by a Barfoot & Thompson suburb sales report.

Unit 29's Capital Value appears elevated relative to its closest true peer. Unit 29 CV $1,550,000 vs 19/73 CV $1,375,000 — a $175,000 gap between two otherwise matching units48 19/73 is unit 29's closest true peer: same building (Rata), same floor area (123m²), same carpark count (2). Both carry a 2024 council capital value, yet unit 29's is $175,000 (12.7%) higher. This could reflect genuine features not confirmed present in 19/73 (unit 29 has 2 storage lockers and a top-floor position), or it could reflect mass-appraisal banding noise. Public data cannot resolve which. The practical consequence: unit 29's CV cannot safely be used as the base for a sale-to-CV-ratio valuation method (see Section 7).

No Rata-building sale in over six years. Most recent identified Rata-building sale: 16/73, $1,350,900, 24 September 201898 Unit 29 is in the Rata building; every one of the six comparable sales used in Section 3 is in Kowhai. Six Rata units were identified in total (16, 18, 19, 20, 25, 29/73); none has a sale within the last six years, and the 2018 sale at 16/73 is too old (it spans both the 2021–22 boom and the correction since) to time-adjust with useful precision. On capital value, Rata is not the weaker of the three buildings — Rata's 154m² units carry CVs of $1,550,000–$1,625,000, at or above Kowhai's equivalent units ($1,550,000–$1,575,000) — and no public source describes any physical or positional difference between Rata, Kowhai and Pohutukawa (whose CVs run lower than both). This is stated because a reader might otherwise assume Rata comparables were simply omitted; they were sought and not found.

1/73 Anzac Street sold twice in four months. $1,475,000 (21 Jul 2025) then $1,800,000 (22 Nov 2025) — a 22% move on the same unit in four months18 The earlier sale followed a roughly 4.5-month marketed campaign with no evidence of renovation and is treated as the more conservative, arm's-length reference point. The cause of the second, higher sale four months later could not be established from public data; it is not necessarily an open-market, arm's-length transaction. It is included in the comparables table (flagged, not excluded) because excluding data without a confirmed reason would be its own form of bias — but it is treated as a questionable comparable, not a clean one, throughout Section 3 and Section 7.

Wider market context

Median days to sell 50 days28Auckland region, July 2026, REINZ.
Median sale price $955,00029Auckland, August 2026, 787 sales — Barfoot & Thompson's own sales only, not a whole-of-market figure.
Listing stock, year-on-year +11.5%30Auckland, August 2026.

On the balcony remediation

Who is responsible for balcony presentation The owner, in the overwhelming majority of cases313233Under the Unit Titles Act 2010 (s5), "building elements" is a defined term that explicitly names balconies. Under s138, the body corporate must maintain and repair building elements and infrastructure that serve more than one unit; costs for building elements contained within a single principal unit are recoverable from that unit's owner. A top-floor unit's own balcony floor typically sits inside the principal-unit boundary on the unit plan (this varies by development and was not confirmed against this complex's specific unit plan). In practice, routine cosmetic cleaning and recoating is private maintenance either way, not body-corporate repair-and-renewal work.
Cost to remediate cosmetic balcony staining and reshoot $350–$1,700 all-in, 3–7 days34353637Wash and moss/mould/lichen treatment $180–$650, an optional repaint of a roughly 15m² balcony floor +$375–$675, and photography reshoot $180–$389, using named North Shore/Auckland operators with published pricing. Applies only if the staining is cosmetic (general discolouration, no cracking, no soft deck, no single-point source, no smell below) — see below for the alternative if it might not be. Corrected 2026-09-14: the high end was previously $1,950, built on an unsupported $25-$60/m² repaint rate; the cited page's actual per-m² ranges top out at $45/m², so the repaint component's ceiling is now +$675, not +$900.
Cost if inspection confirms genuine membrane or structural work Realistically $1,500–$3,500+, weeks not days — get 2–3 site quotes38A per-m² rate card ($50–$150/m² × ~15m² = $750–$2,250) understates a small balcony job: waterproofing contractors note that a small balcony carries much the same fixed setup, mobilisation and detailing cost as a job three times its size, spread over far fewer square metres. One aggregated figure of $140–$180/m² for a full membrane system was sourced only via search-index synthesis and could not be confirmed on direct fetch of the originating page — it is not relied on here and should be independently re-verified before use.

Enquire

Arrange a viewing

This is a family-prepared presentation, not the agency's own channel — enquiries and offers go through Barfoot & Thompson directly.

Listing agents Pam Riley and Kristy Duff, Barfoot & Thompson Takapuna (09 489 5084)2
Listing agency Barfoot & Thompson, Takapuna2
Open home Sunday 13 September 2026, 12:00pm–12:30pm3Corrected 2026-09-14: an earlier draft stated 2:00pm-2:30pm, sourced to the Barfoot & Thompson listing (s01) — that page in fact carries no open-home schedule at all. The realestate.co.nz mirror listing (s02) shows this 12:00pm-12:30pm time for the same date; that is the only one of the two sources that states a specific schedule, so it is used here. Confirm with the listing agents before attending — open home times can change at short notice.
Listing number 9383422
View the official listing & book a viewing

Sources

Every figure, traced

Every superscript number on this page links here. Nothing on this site is stated as fact without one of these, or is marked as unconfirmed.

  1. 1. Wikimedia Commons — "SW part of Takapuna from Lake Pupuke shore" by Bjankuloski06 — accessed 2026-09-13
  2. 2. Barfoot & Thompson — 29/73 Anzac Street, Takapuna (listing 938342) — accessed 2026-09-13
  3. 3. realestate.co.nz — 29/73 Anzac Street, Takapuna — accessed 2026-09-13
  4. 4. Property details for Prestige On Pupuke, 29/73 Anzac Street, Takapuna | propertyvalue.co.nz — accessed 2026-09-13
  5. 5. 29/73 Anzac Street, Takapuna | homes.co.nz — accessed 2026-09-14
  6. 6. Takapuna: Lakeside luxury | NZ Herald, 30 May 2003 — accessed 2026-09-14
  7. 7. OpenStreetMap / Nominatim — geocoding for 73 Anzac Street — accessed 2026-09-13
  8. 8. Property details for 19/73 Anzac Street | propertyvalue.co.nz — accessed 2026-09-13
  9. 9. Property details for 16/73 Anzac Street | propertyvalue.co.nz — accessed 2026-09-13
  10. 10. OSRM road-network routing (OpenStreetMap data) — accessed 2026-09-13
  11. 11. Walk Score — 73 Anzac Street, Takapuna — accessed 2026-09-13
  12. 12. Walk Score — 2 Anzac Street, Takapuna (town-centre end, cited for context) — accessed 2026-09-13
  13. 13. Property details for Prestige On Pupuke, 3/73 Anzac Street | propertyvalue.co.nz — accessed 2026-09-13
  14. 14. Property details for Prestige On Pupuke, 2/73 Anzac Street | propertyvalue.co.nz — accessed 2026-09-13
  15. 15. Property details for Prestige On Pupuke, 12/73 Anzac Street | propertyvalue.co.nz — accessed 2026-09-13
  16. 16. Property details for Prestige On Pupuke, 11/73 Anzac Street | propertyvalue.co.nz — accessed 2026-09-13
  17. 17. Property details for Prestige On Pupuke, 9/73 Anzac Street | propertyvalue.co.nz — accessed 2026-09-13
  18. 18. Property details for Prestige On Pupuke, 1/73 Anzac Street, Takapuna — full property history | propertyvalue.co.nz — accessed 2026-09-13
  19. 19. 37/73 Anzac Street (Pohutukawa) — sold, realestate.co.nz — accessed 2026-09-13
  20. 20. QV House Price Index, February 2022: correction looms amongst international uncertainty — accessed 2026-09-13
  21. 21. QV House Price Index — Auckland Region monthly series (data API) — accessed 2026-09-14
  22. 22. QV House Price Index, July 2026: Winter chill settles over cautious housing market — accessed 2026-09-13
  23. 23. homes.co.nz HomesEstimate pages for 1/73, 3/73, 9/73, 11/73, 12/73 Anzac Street — used to backtest AVM accuracy against confirmed sales — accessed 2026-09-13
  24. 24. PropertyValue — 73 Anzac Street sales inventory (units 6-23) — accessed 2026-09-13
  25. 25. OneRoof — 9/73 Anzac Street, Takapuna — accessed 2026-09-13
  26. 26. PropertyValue — 73 Anzac Street sales inventory (units 1-5) — accessed 2026-09-13
  27. 27. Barfoot & Thompson — Takapuna & Hauraki suburb sales report, July 2025 — accessed 2026-09-13
  28. 28. REINZ — "Prices remain steady as properties take longer to sell" (published 13 Aug 2026) — accessed 2026-09-13
  29. 29. Barfoot & Thompson — August 2026 market update — accessed 2026-09-13
  30. 30. realestate.co.nz — New Zealand Property Report, August 2026 — accessed 2026-09-13
  31. 31. Unit Titles Act 2010, section 5 — Interpretation ("building elements", "accessory unit", "common property") — accessed 2026-09-13
  32. 32. Unit Titles Act 2010, section 138 — Body corporate duties of repair and maintenance — accessed 2026-09-13
  33. 33. Repairing common property under the Unit Titles Act 2010 | Rainey Collins Lawyers — accessed 2026-09-13
  34. 34. Soft house washing prices in 2026 — full guide for Auckland homeowners | Metro Water Blasting — accessed 2026-09-13
  35. 35. Roof and exterior moss/mould/lichen treatment pricing | Endeavour (EP Services), greater Auckland — accessed 2026-09-13
  36. 36. Deck staining and repainting cost guide, NZ | Automate the Trades — accessed 2026-09-13
  37. 37. Real estate photography pricing, Auckland | Bash & Co Real Estate Media — accessed 2026-09-13
  38. 38. Why waterproofing cost isn't a simple per-m² rate | Your Subbie, Auckland — accessed 2026-09-13